The TV Detox (stop watching TV for a month with me)

Last week, on February 17th, I decided for myself that I would stop watching tv-shows for a month.

I had just spent almost 20 hours straight in front of my computer, watching, again, episodes of a show I used to be addicted to several years in the past, the O.C. 

I don’t really know what triggered it. Here I was, last Saturday, with a few hours in front of me to work on my dissertation, but instead of opening my Mellel file, I opened Safari and that was it, she was not heard of again…

So, on Wednesday, I though to myself: enough is enough, and I can do this, I feel strongly motivated to ditch the tv-shows for a month.

I even opened iCal and scheduled weekly motivational messages.

Wednesday and Thursday I eased into it. I didn’t watch any episodes per se, but went on reading stuff about the show on the Internet. This was a cheap move, but hey.

On Friday, well… on Friday, I caved. I had a plane to sit on for two hours, and even though I was looking forward to read and write, and clear my mind, I wasn’t kidding myself.

So here I am, almost a week later, with the first congratulations alarm set to go off tomorrow, and still in over my head with the same old problem: how to be a grown-up, suck it up, work to fit your deadlines, stop procrastinating stupidly and being literally addicted to television.

I decided I will do now what I should have done a week ago.

I’m setting up a challenge. I open it to everyone who’s interested. I will come back here every week (at least) with a review of my successes and struggles and some motivational speeches.

What I intend to do:

  • Stop, drastically and completely, cold-turkey and without looking back, all relationship with the following websites: putlocker.is, watchseries.ag, sidereel.com, youtube.com. The goal is to reach one month. For now, the first goal is one week. The ban will be lifted on March 1st. 
  • Stop, drastically and completely, without looking back, all time wasting activities, such as: surfing the web in search for interviews and reviews related to the show(s), reading message boards, reading Fanfiction. I’m not banning writing Fanfiction, because at least it’s a creative process.
  • That’s all, actually. Easy-breezy. A bonus challenge would also be stopping Facebook, but tiny steps, tiny steps.

What it is supposed to improve in my life:

  • I will stop obsessing about the lives of fictional characters and devote my thoughts to real relationships with my friends, family, and loved ones. 
  • I will go to sleep early and wake up early as a result. It’s not a difficult thing to do, since I’ve been doing this for a long time now before the latest tv-show devastating streak.
  • I will have so much time on my hands. Time that I will use in any way I like. I will find myself a hobby (I used to love to sew, to knit, to build things, to cook, too) and report on what I did with my free time in a week.
  • I will stop procrastinating? (ha!) I don’t know about that, but at least I am going to try and work, write my dissertation that is, and face all the difficulties that stand before me.

I’m a passionate nature and get addicted quickly. I want to ultimately find balance. But first of all, by the end of this seven days period, I want to be proud of myself.

Who’s with me on this? Leave your thoughts in the comments and join me for the challenge.

Each week I’ll be discussing the challenges of this project, the eventual failures and the successes, I’ll also be monitoring my time and will come up with ideas on how to spend it otherwise than on the couch.

One thought on “The TV Detox (stop watching TV for a month with me)

Leave a Reply

